Skip to Main Content

Research Tips & Techniques Guide

Strategies to increase efficiency in research

Using Google Scholar

Pros and Cons of Using Google Scholar 

What is Google Scholar?

Google Scholar provides access to many references and a limited number of free, full-text articles. You can search across disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other websites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research - but it's important to note that most of the content in Google Scholar is not free.

PROS CONS
  • user friendly, accessible platform
  • limitations on narrowing results to full-text, open access (free) (vs multiple limiters in Virtual Library)
  • most content is indexed only, not full-text (vs the majority of content full-text in Virtual Library)
  • usually hit a paywall (NEVER hit a paywall in Virtual Library)
  • if full-text is not available through Google Scholar, you must go through many steps to find the content elsewhere (vs one-stop research in the Virtual Library)
  • has multiple formats (ebooks, journals, multimedia)
  • not all content is credible (vs ALL content in the Virtual Library is credible)
  • there are standards for deposit in Google Scholar, but not everything is peer-reviewed or scholarly
  • helpful in locating open-access (free) content not in the Virtual Library

TIP: use Google Scholar to look for a known article if you don't find it in the Virtual Library 

 

 

Conclusion: start your research in the Virtual Library and then use Google Scholar to supplement this research.

Questions? Contact us at asc-thevirtuallibrarian@post.edu. Help is available 7 days a week!

Find 
Program Resources
Research Aids
College Services

A-Z List of Databases

Business Plans & Case Studies

DNP Project Digital Repository

Faculty Resources

How to Access Other Libraries

Library Homepage  

Multimedia

News & Current Events

Reference Service Policy

RefWorks

Video Tutorials

Black History & Culture

Clinical Practice Guidelines

DNP Research Support

Evidence Based Practice

History of Nursing 

Literature Reviews

MBA Healthcare

Nursing Classification

Nursing Programs

‚ÄčNursing Theory

PICOT Tips

 

APA Style Writing & Citation

ChatGPT & OpenAI

Copyright & Fair Use

COVID-19 Resources

Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Resources

ESL Resources

Evaluating Online Sources

Legal Resources for Healthcare

Maps and Data Sets 

Research Tips & Techniques

Research Tools & Instruments 

Statistics & Data Sets

Student Success in Online Learning

Understanding Scholarly Research

 

Code of Conduct

Financial Literacy

Helpdesk

Post University Blog

Student Center

Student Services

Writing Center