Skip to Main Content

Welcome to the Library: Home

Library News: September 2023 - Locating a Specific Article in the Library Databases

Locating a Specific Article in the Library Databases

What do you do when you find an article through Google and you want to know if the Library has it?

1. The easiest way to find out if the library has an item you're looking for is to use the Journal Finder on the library homepage to look up a specific journal name or use the Search All Library Databases tool and search by article or book title.


2. If you are searching by article or book title remember to put quotation marks around the phrase to search for an exact match.
e.g. "Journal of Pediatric Nursing"

If the article is not part of the Library's collection:
1. Google Scholar: search by article title to see if there is an open (free) version
2. WorldCat (a database of library holdings across the world): search for the book or journal name along with your zip code. If you find it at another library, be sure to call and ask permission to borrow it.
3. Local public library: ask them to bring it in for you on an interlibrary loan.

Questions about this or anything else? Contact your librarians 7 days a week at asc-thevirtuallibrarian@post.edu

Welcome to the Library!

10 minute rule

LIBRARY ORIENTATION - WHERE TO START

Start by exploring the A-Z List of Databases and begin your research by clicking into the database of your choice. The librarians recommend starting with ProQuest Central.
Watch these short video tutorials:
Here's a quick Library Orientation Guide to get you started:
Self Learning Options:
  1. Explore the Video Tutorials and Research Guides to help you learn how to use the library. 
  2. Explore the other sections in the library, including Nursing Programs.
  3. Questions or feedback? Contact the virtual librarians at 
           asc-thevirtuallibrarian@post.edu

SEARCH AN INDIVIDUAL LIBRARY DATABASE

Search ALL Library Databases

Remember to enclose phrases in quotation marks (e.g. "United States"). 

JOURNAL FINDER


SEARCH FOR A SPECIFIC JOURNAL




Find 
Program Resources
Research Aids
College Services

A-Z List of Databases

Business Plans & Case Studies

DNP Project Digital Repository

Faculty Resources

How to Access Other Libraries

Library Homepage 

Mobile Apps 

Multimedia

News & Current Events

Reference Service Policy

RefWorks

Research Guides

Video Tutorials

Black History & Culture

Clinical Practice Guidelines

DNP Research Support

Evidence Based Practice

Florence Nightingale Resources

General Education

History of Nursing 

Literature Reviews

MBA Healthcare

Nursing Classification

Nursing Programs

‚ÄčNursing Theory

PICOT Tips

 

APA Style Writing & Citation

ChatGPT & OpenAI

COVID-19 Resources

Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Resources

ESL Resources

Evaluating Online Sources

Legal Resources for Healthcare

Maps and Data Sets 

Research Tips & Techniques

Research Tools & Instruments 

Statistics & Data Sets

Student Success in Online Learning

Understanding Scholarly Research

 

Code of Conduct

Financial Literacy

Helpdesk

Post University Blog

Student Center

Student Services

Writing Center