Library Homepage: ESL &amp; Multilingual Reference: ESL & Multilingual Reference

Databases in the American Sentinel University library do NOT have translation capabilities.

To access multilingual resources and to limit by language in the library here is some general information:

Language Limiters in EBSCO and ProQuest: apply to retrieve content in a specific language in the dropdown list.

Spanish Patient Education in Nursing Reference Center: choose option under the Databases link.

Multilingual Search Interfaces in OVID: conduct a search in your own language. The results will be in English.

Reading Level (Lexile) in eLibrary: scroll down to the Reading Level limiter and toggle a level or enter a number for a Lexile level

eg. Grade 12 = 1130L - 1440L. Adjust the numbers up or down to change the demand on the reader.

OPEN ACCESS

Dictionaries | Glossaries

CEBM Glossary
Welcome to the CEBM Glossary. This is not a comprehensive glossary but it outlines some of the key terms that should be understood in relation to Evidence-Based practice.
more...less...
Authors: Katherine Law and Jeremy Howick
Digital.gov: Bilingual Glossaries, Dictionaries
Includes: Frequently Mistranslated English Terms, Spanish Healthcare Terms in the United States. Government wide resources to make communicating government information to multilingual audiences easier and more consistent.
more...less...
Includes: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, National Institutes of Health.
EUdict (European Dictionary)
EUdict (European dictionary) is a collection of online dictionaries for the languages spoken mostly in Europe.
more...less...
These dictionaries are the result of the work of many authors who worked very hard and finally offered their product free of charge on the internet thus making it easier to all of us to communicate with each other. Some of the dictionaries have only a few thousand words, others have more than 320,000. Some of the words may be incorrectly translated or mistyped.
LangtoLang Multilingual Dictionary
Langtolang is a multilingual dictionary translating from/to English, and
more...less...
Albanian, Arabic, Breton, Catalan, Chinese Simplified, Chinese Traditional, Corsican, Czech, Danish, Dutch, Esperanto, Estonian, Finnish, French, Gaelic, Georgian, German, Greek, Hebrew, Hungarian, Icelandic, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Kurdish, Latvian, Lithuanian, Malagasy, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese Brazil, Portuguese Portugal, Romanian, Russian, Serbo Croat, Slovak, Slovenian, Spanish, Swahili, Swedish, Turkish, Vietnamese, Yiddish, Walloon, Welsh languages.
TranslationDirectory.Com
374 glossaries, many covering medical terminology in English, including: Medical terminology, Medical prescriptions Abbreviations, Medical slang, Acronyms in healthcare, LIst of Medical abbreviations, HIV Vaccine, Allergy Terms, Bone Cancer. Includes links to free Dictionaries such as: English - Spanish, Diccionario Portuges-Espanol

Government

Biblioteca Nacional de Medicina de los EE. UU.
La Biblioteca Nacional de Medicina, parte de los Institutos Nacionales de la Salud (NIH), desarrolló y mantiene MedlinePlus para ayudarle a ubicar información de confianza sobre salud.
USA Government en espanol
Un sitio oficial del Gobierno de Estados Unido. Government Resources in Spanish. Includes Spanish Language Mobile Apps.
VHL Regional Portal
The VHL Regional Portal is an integrated space of health information sources that promotes the democratization and expansion of access to scientific and technical information in health in Latin America and the Caribbean (LA&C). It is developed and operated by BIREME in three languages (English, Portuguese and Spanish).

Language Learning

DuoLingo
Language Tutorials online and through mobile apps.
Mango Languages
You can find Mango Languages for free through thousands of public libraries, schools, and other community organizations. Click on the link to find access near you.
Omniglot
The online encyclopedia of writing systems & languages.
Open Culture
This collection features lessons in 48 languages, including Spanish, French, English, Mandarin, Italian, Russian and more. Download audio lessons to your computer or mp3 player.
Open Learning Initiative: American English Speech
Open and Free with guest registration.Includes instruction on: Intonation, Vowels, Diphthongs.
USA Learns
English speaking, listening, vocabulary, pronunciation, reading, writing and grammar
New U.S. Citizenship course!. 100% free educational website
more...less...
Sacramento County Office of Education

Podcasts

Better at English
Free English conversation lessons podcast from Apple Podcasts.
Business English Pod
Learn Business English Online from Apple Podcasts.
Effortless English Podcast
Learn English with AJ Hoge from Apple Podcasts
Grammar Girl
Grammar Girl Quick and Dirty Tips for Better Writing from Apple Podcasts
ESL Pod
English as a Second Language (ESL) Podcast - Learn English Online from Apple Podcasts
Tu Ingles! Podcast
The sessions include interviews, practices of
conjugation, advice, speech recordings, and other resources. From Apple Podcasts.

Practice Resources

CARPHA EvIDeNCe Portal
The EvIDeNCe Portal is a continuously updated repository of research, syntheses and Caribbean policy-relevant documents. The Portal includes clinical, population health and health systems research but excludes basic/biomedical research. The types of syntheses included are evidence briefs for policy, rapid syntheses, overviews of systematic reviews, systematic reviews and economic evaluations.
more...less...
The policy relevant documents originate from the CARPHA, CARPHA Member States and the World Health Organization. The EvIDeNCe portal also includes a guided overview of sources of Caribbean data, pre-appraised research evidence and other types of information, tools, resources and training material to support evidence-informed decision-making.
CEBM Multilingual Critical Appraisal Tools
Access multilingual tools and downloads for the critical appraisal of different types of medical evidence.Systematic Reviews Critical Appraisal Sheet; Diagnostics Critical Appraisal Sheet;
Prognosis Critical Appraisal Sheet;
Randomised Controlled Trials (RCT) Critical Appraisal Sheet; Critical Appraisal of Qualitative Studies Sheet; IPD Review Sheet
more...less...
Includes Tools in: Chinese, English, German, Lithuanian, Persian, Portuguese, Spanish
Evidence Based Practice Glossary
Entries in this glossary were adapted from a number of sources, including: BMJ Clinical Evidence,CEBM
SIGN, U of T Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine,
User's Guide to the Medical Literature – The Evidence-Based Working Group. American Medical Association; 2002.
more...less...
The definitions often differ slightly among these sources. Although we have selected a definition for each entry to get you started, your understanding of these concepts will grow if you examine the definitions provided at the websites listed above.
Multi-Cultural Resources for Health Information
From the U.S. Dept of Human Services. Includes: Cultural Competency. Data, Dictionaries, Glossaries, and Online Translation Tools, Health Literacy, Health Resources in Multiple Languages, Health Information Interpretation and Translation, Refugee Health Portals
more...less...
Funding Opportunities, Multicultural Research Organizations and Portals, Law, Policy, and Standards
Limited English Proficiency,

Translators

Yahoo Babelfish
Translate words, webpages or document formats such as Word, PDF and text.
Google Translate
Instantly translates words, phrases, and web pages between English and over 100 other languages.