Skip to Main Content

Research Tips & Techniques Guide

Strategies to increase efficiency in research

Finding a Known Citation

 

Example:

Stokke, K., Olsen, N. R., Espehaug, B., & Nortvedt, M. W. (2014). Evidence based practice beliefs and implementation among nurses: A cross-sectional study. BMC Nursing, 13, 8. 

Journal Finder

  • located at the top of the A-Z List of Databases page
  • Search on Journal Title
  • Click into Database link
  • Search on keywords from the article citation

Publications Link

  • link located at the top of the advanced search page

 

  • ProQuest Central - searches all ProQuest resources
    • Use the Publications tab at the top of the Advanced Search page
    • Search on the  journal name (e.g. BMC Nursing) 
    • In results, click on the publication title link to see full-text and indexing status
    • The record will show if the article is full-text for the year and issue sought
    • Search on keywords from citation in Search Within This Publication 

 

  • EBSCOhost 
    • choose each database separately to access Publication search - eg. CINAHL with Full-text
    • a better strategy in EBSCO is to use the field limiters option to search across all databases, or to employ the Journal Finder 

Field Limiters

  • Eg. search on the author last name (limiting the author field limiter) AND "keywords from the article title"
  • Eg. search on the journal title (limiting with source or publication field limiter) and author last name (limiting with author field limiter)

Find 
Program Resources
Research Aids
College Services

A-Z List of Databases

Business Plans & Case Studies

DNP Project Digital Repository

Faculty Resources

How to Access Other Libraries

Library Homepage  

Multimedia

News & Current Events

Reference Service Policy

RefWorks

Video Tutorials

Black History & Culture

Clinical Practice Guidelines

DNP Research Support

Evidence Based Practice

History of Nursing 

Literature Reviews

MBA Healthcare

Nursing Classification

Nursing Programs

Nursing Theory

PICOT Tips

 

APA Style Writing & Citation

ChatGPT & OpenAI

Copyright & Fair Use

COVID-19 Resources

Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Resources

ESL Resources

Evaluating Online Sources

Legal Resources for Healthcare

Maps and Data Sets 

Research Tips & Techniques

Research Tools & Instruments 

Statistics & Data Sets

Student Success in Online Learning

Understanding Scholarly Research

 

Code of Conduct

Financial Literacy

Helpdesk

Post University Blog

Student Center

Student Services

Writing Center