Skip to Main Content

Nursing Theory

Nursing theories are theoretical frameworks that aim to explain the nursing profession

Some top Theorists and Their Theories

Florence Nightingale - Environment theory

Jean Watson - Philosophy and Caring Model

Hildegard Peplau - Interpersonal theory

Madeleine Leininger -Transcultural Nursing

Virginia Henderson - Need Theory

Patricia Benner - From Novice to Expert

Fay Abdella - Twenty One Nursing Problems

Lydia E. Hall - The Core, Care and Cure

Ida Jean Orlando - Nursing Process theory

Joyce Travelbee - Human-To-Human Relationship Model

Dorothy Johnson - System model

Margaret Newman - Health As Expanding Consciousness

Martha Rogers -Unitary Human beings

Katharine Kolcaba - Comfort Theory

Dorothea Orem - Self-care theory

Rosemarie Rizzo Parse - Human Becoming Theory

Imogene King - Goal Attainment theory

Ernestine Wiedenbach - The Helping Art of Clinical Nursing 

Betty Neuman - System model

Jean Watson - Philosophy and Caring Model

Sister Calista Roy - Adaptation theory

 

 

Nursing Theory Databases

CINAHL with Full Text

A source for full text nursing & allied health journals, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, research instruments records and evidence based care sheets.

Nursing Reference Center

Access clinical resources for nurses and health care professionals. Focuses on reference and evidence-based content.

Nursing & Allied Health Database

Access a diverse mix of scholarly literature, clinical training videos, reference materials, and evidence-based resources, including dissertations and systematic reviews.

OVID Nursing Excellence & Quality Core Journal Collection

Access full text nursing journals. When you enter the database, select All Resources and hit OK.

Health & Medical Collection

Access full text content in general medicine, psychiatry, dentistry, alternative medicine, and other research areas in healthcare.

Nursing & Allied Health Database

Access a diverse mix of scholarly literature, clinical training videos, reference materials, and evidence-based resources, including dissertations and systematic reviews.

Consumer Health Complete

Covers key health and wellness topic areas, from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.

TIP: Find evidence based reports on a variety of health topics by clicking the link under the search box.

Healthcare Administration Database

Access full text content on a wide range of topics, including hospitals, insurance, law, statistics, business management, personnel management, ethics, health economics, and public health administration.

Nursing Theory on the Web

The following links lead to websites that present lists of  nursing theory and theorists. 

Find 
Program Resources
Research Aids
College Services

A-Z List of Databases

Business Plans & Case Studies

DNP Project Digital Repository

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Faculty Resources

How to Access Other Libraries

Library Homepage  

Multimedia

News & Current Events

Reference Service Policy

RefWorks

Video Tutorials

Black History & Culture

Clinical Practice Guidelines

DNP Research Support

Evidence Based Practice

History of Nursing 

Literature Reviews

MBA Healthcare

Nursing Classification

Nursing Programs

Nursing Theory

PICOT Tips

 

APA Help

ChatGPT & OpenAI

Copyright & Fair Use

COVID-19 Resources

Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Resources

ESL Resources

Evaluating Online Sources

Legal Resources for Healthcare

Maps and Data Sets 

Research Tips & Techniques

Research Tools & Instruments 

Statistics & Data Sets

Student Success in Online Learning

Understanding Scholarly Research

 

Code of Conduct

Financial Literacy

Helpdesk

Post University Blog

Student Center

Student Services

Writing Center