Skip to Main Content

APA Help

How to use Permalinks

This guide will give you instructions on how to directly link library articles into your course or discussion forum. 

 

NOTE: You can post permalinks to articles from library databases as outlined above, but you cannot post PDF articles without obtaining permission from the copyright holder.

 

 

Permalinks: 

A permalinks (Short for "permanent link", sometimes called "document URLs" or "jumpstart URLs") is a stable or persistent link to a specific web page or article. It provides a URL link that is intended to remain unchanged for many years into the future. A permalink to a library resource makes finding the resource simple.

See below for instructions on finding permalinks in:

 

EBSCO: all EBSCO databases including (but not limited to):
  • Academic Search Premier
  • CINAHL with full text
  • Business Source Premier
  • EBSCO eBook Collection
  • Nursing Reference Center (NRC)
ProQuest:
  • ProQuest Central
  • ProQuest Ebook Central
  • ProQuest Dissertations and Theses

OVID

Before you start: Permalinks will require the user clicking the link to login to the library if they are not already. 

Questions? Email asc-thevirtuallibrarian@post.edu for assistance.

Permalink Instructions

As with all permalinks, you must first get to the specific item you want the permalink for:

1. Perform your search in any ProQuest database and click the link for the specific article or other item you want.

2. Click on the Abstract/Details tab.

ASU - PQ1.png

 

3. Scroll down to the bottom of the page. Copy the Document URL (permalink) and paste it into the location of your choice.

 

ASU - PQ2.png

To copy a permalink to an article:

  1. From an open article, click Permalink in the Tools menu on the right hand side of the page. 

  2. Copy the link from the Permalink window and paste it into an email, web page, etc.

 

Macintosh HD:Users:cherirauser:Desktop:VCO EBSCO permalink.png

 

Note: You can also get the citation of the article by clicking Cite (also on the Tools menu) and copy and pasting the citation into your notes or bibliography. 

Macintosh HD:Users:cherirauser:Desktop:ASU EBSCO Cite 2a.png

 

Macintosh HD:Users:cherirauser:Desktop:ASU EBSCO Cite 2b.png

In OVID permalinks are called Jumpstart Links.

1. Locate the article you want to link to and click the title to open the article.

2. Click the the Email Jumpstart link at the top of the page

3. Copy the URL or enter an email address in the box and click send to email the link

Find 
Program Resources
Research Aids
College Services

A-Z List of Databases

Business Plans & Case Studies

DNP Project Digital Repository

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Faculty Resources

How to Access Other Libraries

Library Homepage  

Multimedia

News & Current Events

Reference Service Policy

RefWorks

Video Tutorials

Black History & Culture

Clinical Practice Guidelines

DNP Research Support

Evidence Based Practice

History of Nursing 

Literature Reviews

MBA Healthcare

Nursing Classification

Nursing Programs

‚ÄčNursing Theory

PICOT Tips

 

APA Help

ChatGPT & OpenAI

Copyright & Fair Use

COVID-19 Resources

Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Resources

ESL Resources

Evaluating Online Sources

Legal Resources for Healthcare

Maps and Data Sets 

Research Tips & Techniques

Research Tools & Instruments 

Statistics & Data Sets

Student Success in Online Learning

Understanding Scholarly Research

 

Code of Conduct

Financial Literacy

Helpdesk

Post University Blog

Student Center

Student Services

Writing Center