Skip to Main Content

Welcome to the Library: Home

Library News: April 2024 - Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Unlocking Library Resources: Introducing our New Reference Guide: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Reference sources are essential tools for academic study because they provide quick access to reliable information on a wide range of topics.

Here's why they're so handy:
1. Give an overview of a topic
2. Identify essential readings in the field
3. Clarify terms or concepts you aren't familiar with
4. Hints for keywords for further searches in the Library databases

Examples:
Basic & Clinical Pharmacology
Black's Medical Dictionary
Concise Handbook of Management
Encyclopedia of Nursing Research
Alternative Health in American History: An Encyclopedia from Acupuncture to Yoga

Find the Encyclopedia & Dictionaries Guide here.
Questions about this or anything else? Contact your librarians 7 days a week at asc-thevirtuallibrarian@post.edu

Welcome to the Library!

LIBRARY ORIENTATION - WHERE TO START

Start by exploring the A-Z List of Databases and begin your research by clicking into the database of your choice. The librarians recommend starting with ProQuest Central.
Watch these short video tutorials:
Here's a quick Library Orientation Guide to get you started:
Self Learning Options:
  1. Explore the Video Tutorials and Research Guides to help you learn how to use the library. 
  2. Explore the other sections in the library, including Nursing Programs.
  3. Questions or feedback? Contact the virtual librarians at 
           asc-thevirtuallibrarian@post.edu

SEARCH AN INDIVIDUAL LIBRARY DATABASE

Search ALL Library Databases

Remember to enclose phrases in quotation marks (e.g. "United States"). 

JOURNAL FINDER


SEARCH FOR A SPECIFIC JOURNAL




Find 
Program Resources
Research Aids
College Services

A-Z List of Databases

Business Plans & Case Studies

DNP Project Digital Repository

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Faculty Resources

How to Access Other Libraries

Library Homepage  

Multimedia

News & Current Events

Reference Service Policy

RefWorks

Video Tutorials

Black History & Culture

Clinical Practice Guidelines

DNP Research Support

Evidence Based Practice

History of Nursing 

Literature Reviews

MBA Healthcare

Nursing Classification

Nursing Programs

‚ÄčNursing Theory

PICOT Tips

 

APA Style Writing & Citation

ChatGPT & OpenAI

Copyright & Fair Use

COVID-19 Resources

Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Resources

ESL Resources

Evaluating Online Sources

Legal Resources for Healthcare

Maps and Data Sets 

Research Tips & Techniques

Research Tools & Instruments 

Statistics & Data Sets

Student Success in Online Learning

Understanding Scholarly Research

 

Code of Conduct

Financial Literacy

Helpdesk

Post University Blog

Student Center

Student Services

Writing Center