Library News: Library News 2022

NEW - Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Library Guide!

Find research starters for:

• Intersectionality
• DEI in Nursing and Healthcare
• Anti-racism
• Gender and sexuality
• Age and Size-based discrimination
• Neurodiversity and disability
• Economic inequality

Find the DEI Guide here

Happy Holidays from the Virtual Library team! We're here to help over the holidays - remember you can contact us via email 7 days a week at asc-thevirtuallibrarian@post.edu

Point of Care Tools

Point-of-Care Tools are research resources that a clinician can use immediately at the point-of-care site with a patient. They often contain frequently updated, searchable summaries of evidence that a clinician can access quickly to help make evidence-informed decisions and assist with diagnosis and treatment. They save clinicians time and effort by eliminating the need for rigorous research every time they need to make a patient care decision.

The Library provides access to Dynamed, a source with high quality, evidence-based information, and expert guidance. It includes:
- easy-to-search topics with recommendations, key takeaways and synopses
- concise overviews and detailed recommendations for clear answers
- content ranging from comprehensive reviews of diseases, conditions and abnormal findings to focused topics on evaluation, differential diagnosis and management
- drug and laboratory monographs

Find Dynamed on the A-Z List of Databases in the Library

Questions about this or anything else? Contact your librarians 7 days a week at asc-thevirtuallibrarian@post.edu

There are 29 new ebooks in EBSCO eBook Collection, including a number of titles on diversity, equity and inclusion (DEI) in healthcare and nursing.

Featured titles include:

• LGBTQ Cultures : What Health Care Professionals Need to Know About Sexual and Gender Diversity
• Lead Like A Nurse : Leadership in Every Healthcare Setting
• Disability As Diversity : A Guidebook for Inclusion in Medicine, Nursing, and the Health Professions
• Nursing in Hospice and Terminal Care : Research and Practice
• Anti-Racist Leadership : How to Transform Corporate Culture in a Race-Conscious World

Questions? Contact the librarians 7 days a week at asc-thevirtuallibrarian@post.edu 

National Hispanic Heritage Month runs from September 15-October 15. It is a time to appreciate and celebrate the cultures, rich histories, and diversity of American citizens who came from Mexico, Spain, the Caribbean, and South- and Central America.

Selected Online Resources:

• National Association of Hispanic Nurses
• Hispanic Heritage Month - U.S. Breastfeeding Committee
• 15 Hispanic Heritage Month 2022 Activities
• Hispanic Heritage Month Toolkit
• 5 Hispanic nurse trailblazers everyone should know
• There are too few Latino nurses.
• Covid showed how important they are
• Hispanic and Latino/a Nurses You Should Know About

Selected Library Resources:

• An emerging reactive ethnicity among latinxs in Tennessee (2022)
• Use of #SaludTues Tweetchats for the dissemination of culturally relevant information on Latino health: an exploratory case study (2021)
• Managing my Latinx Identity at Work (2020)
• Health-related quality of life and social determinants of health following COVID-19 infection in a predominantly Latino population (2022)
• Understanding the barriers to receiving Autism Diagnoses for Hispanic and Latinx Families Differences with Difference: Everyday Praxis from Latinx Lived Experiences (2022)

Find more articles like this in ProQuest Central (on the A-Z List of Databases in the Library) Questions about this or anything else? Contact your librarians 7 day a week at asc-thevirtuallibrarian@post.edu.

NEW - Nursing Program Library Guide

A newly updated Nursing Program Library Guide is now available.

Find information on:
- scholarly research and peer review
- evaluating sources for credibility
- research methods (including how to identify qualitative and quantitative methods)
- evidence-based practice
- conducting literature reviews
- free, online nursing resources, including simulation tools, clinical practice guidelines, open access reference books, and article repositories

Questions about this or anything else? Contact your librarians 7 day a week at asc-thevirtuallibrarian@post.edu.

What is Open Access?

Open Access (OA) means that some works, like peer-reviewed journal articles, graduate theses, data, or other types of scholarly information are made available free of charge, with no publisher embargo, and in a permanently accessible, online format. Lots of excellent Open Access scholarly information can be found online, for free. For example:

Clinical Trials:

• ClinicalTrials.gov
• Cancer.gov

Journals:

• JAMA Network Open
• The Lancet Open Access

Statistics:

• SEER

Videos & Images:

• British Medical Journal
• The Lancet
   

Find these resources and more on our Nursing Guide. *Please note that Open Access resources still have to be checked for credibility. Check out the Evaluating Online Sources guide in the Library for more information.

Questions about this or anything else? Contact your librarians 7 day a week at asc-thevirtuallibrarian@post.edu.
 

In honor of Pride Month, the librarians invite you to explore queer health resources in the library:

• Identifying Gaps in LGBTQ Health Education in Baccalaureate Undergraduate Nursing Programs
• An Investigation of Nursing Student Attitudes and Knowledge toward LBGTQ Patients
• "The Message Is You Don't Exist": Exploring Lived Experiences of Rural Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer/Questioning (LGBTQ) People Utilizing Health Care Services
• Discrimination as a predictor of poor mental health among LGBTQ+ people during the COVID-19 pandemic: cross-sectional analysis of the online Queerantine study
• Are we asking the right questions? Working with the LGBTQ+ community to prioritise healthcare research themes

Find these and much more in ProQuest Central and other Library Databases. You can also check out the ANA's Position Statement on Nursing Advocacy for LGBTQ+ Patients.

Questions about this or anything else? Contact your librarians 7 days a week at asc-thevirtuallibrarian@post.edu

 

Using Google Scholar for Academic Research

What is Google Scholar?
Google Scholar is search engine that specifically searches academic sources and scholarly literature.

How is Google Scholar different from standard Google?
Google searches ALL public web content. Google Scholar searches scholarly books and articles - somewhat similar to what you might find in the Library's databases.

How is Google Scholar compared to the Library's databases?
There is some overlap in content between Google Scholar and the Library's databases. However, Google Scholar will not contain everything that is in the Library's databases and it often does not provide full-text articles. Clicking on a title may only take you to a citation or description, rather than the full document itself. In most cases, you will be asked to pay for access to the full article.

Google Scholar can be a starting place but it is not comprehensive. For more precise searching, more search features and more full-text content, use the Library's databases.

If you find an article in Google Scholar, but cannot find the full-text, try the Library's databases. The fastest way is to either use the Journal Title or the Search All Library Databases tools on the main Library page.
Find more information here: Research Tips & Techniques Guide

Questions about this or anything else? Contact your librarians 7 day a week at asc-thevirtuallibrarian@post.edu.

The Library maintains a collection of digital DNP projects. These are uploaded as soon as they have been accepted for inclusion by the DNP Project Committee.

These are a great way to see the types of research happening at American Sentinel and get inspiration for your own work!

The projects are arranged by the author's last name but they are also searchable via the search box at the top right of the screen. Try searching by:
- subject/topic
- research method
- research tool

Find the DNP Project Digital Repository here, or follow the link at the bottom of the page under "Find".

Questions about this or anything else? Contact your librarians 7 days a week at asc-thevirtuallibrarian@post.edu

Are you using RefWorks for your citations yet?

RefWorks is a great way to:

- store details of book and articles you read
- download references from databases such as ProQuest Central or CINAHL
- insert citations in your Word documents
- build a bibliography in a style of your choosing at the click of a button

Check out the RefWorks page in the library.

Check out the RefWorks YouTube channel for video tutorials. 

Questions about this or anything else? Contact your librarians 7 days a week at asc-thevirtuallibrarian@post.edu
 

February is Black History Month. Since the inception of Negro history week in 1926, the celebration of black achievement has grown into a month-long observance. Of much relevance to the American Sentinel community, the theme for Black History Month 2022 is Black Health and Wellness.

Here are a few resources to support that theme:

• African American Wellness Project 
• Black Women's Health Imperative
• Council on Black Health
• Black Men in White Coats - podcast and video series 
• Therapy for Black Girls - podcast
• TED Talks to Celebrate Black History Month

These resources can be found on the Black History and Culture library guide on our new Black Health & Wellness page.

Questions about this or anything else? Contact your librarians 7 day a week at asc-thevirtuallibrarian@post.edu.