Library News: Library News 2021

If you love the nursing content in OVID you will love the new  Saved Searches & Alerts interface available on Sept 30. Existing saved searches and alerts will not be affected by the transition to the updated interface. *Do not use Internet Explorer.

Need assistance with this or any other library feature?  Contact the librarians at: asc-thevirtuallibrarian@post.edu

Key Updates Include:

• A new, modern interface that is clear and easy to navigate.
• Favorites tag and filter to find favorited searches quickly.
• Run, Copy and Delete buttons stay stationary at the top of the page while scrolling through the list of saved searches and alerts.
• Single editing feature to  both rename and edit a saved search or alert.
• Click on  for examples of each AutoAlert format.
• Larger default size for the Recipient's Email Address box so that you can insert multiple email addresses more easily.

Were you wondering where to go for library instructional videos and orientation content? 

• The library has a guide that hosts a number of links to videos made by the librarian, others on YouTube from the vendors who create the databases and to presentation links.  
• Recently, a librarian from the Post-ASC Virtual Library presented a Library Orientation session: Rev Up Your Research Skills for the Post University Partner Engagement series called Progress in 30 Minutes or Less.
• You can access that orientation and other content  in the Videos, Tutorials & Training guide in the library.

Your librarians are familiar with your instructors and curriculum and are available to help with reference questions 7 days a week.  

Contact your librarians at: asc-thevirtuallibrarian@post.edu 

It's always a happy day when new resources arrive in the library.  This month features the addition of Dynamed and Nursing Reference Center Plus.  The library A-Z List of Databases has the resources linked and ready for use.

• Dynamed provides access to daily updates on 9,500+ topics in 35 specialties and is fully downloadable onto a device with no cellular connection required. Incorporates content with the IBM Micromedex drug database, monitors 500+ Cochrane journals and 19,000+ national and international guidelines. 

Nursing Reference Center Plus is a new take on a popular and well-used library reference resource. Access content that includes: Skills with Videos, Cultural Competencies, Management Topics, Care Plans and under More - 8 Nursing Reference eBooks and Patient Education sheets. Tour NRC Plus This brief video (2:57) provides an overview of this easy to use resource.

Please contact the librarians for assistance in using these or any other library resources.  asc-virtuallibrarian@post.edu

               20 areas of public health scholarship are included in this online repository and subscriptions are free during the startup phase.  SSRN is a great resource to connect with other researchers and also to obtain copies of hard to find research articles, directly from the author.  The Annual Review of Public Health is included in this free open access resource. 

Sometimes looking in the more specialized collections and individual databases in the library, is just what a search strategy needs.

• While taking a Search All Databases  approach to the topic may provide a lot of results, it's much harder to limit them outside of the actual database.
• Each of the main library journal collections:  OVID, ProQuest Central and EBSCOhost,  have journal content that is unique.

OVID content is especially unique, in that one is unlikely to find that content elsewhere.

• Linked in the A-Z LIst of Databases. there are 27 full-text peer-review journals in the OVID collection.
• The journals were acquired to provide a focus on programs offered through American Sentinel College
• Titles include: AJIC: American Journal of Infection Control, AJN, American Journal of Nursing, CIN: Computers, Informatics, Nursing, Clinical Nurse Specialist, Health Care Management Review, Journal of Nursing Administration, Journal of the American Association of Nurse Practitioners, Journal of the American Board of Family Medicine, Nurse Educator, Nursing Management, Nursing Research

Need help expanding your horizons?  

Contact the  librarians at: asc-thevirtuallibrarian@post.edu

 You may have noticed some new journals in the library A-Z List of Databases. 

• Typically journals are contained in a collection.  
• But three new journals are so specialized that they are standalone titles from the publisher. 
• Two new journals are linked into OVID and Science Direct in the A-Z List of Databases.
• Access all the new titles through the A-Z List linked in the page footer in the library, or by title in the A-Z Dropdown menu on the library homepage
• Like all content in the library, the journals are searchable through the Search All Databases box on the library home page.

The five new titles requested by the Dean to support your studies are:

• Group Processes & Intergroup Relations (by title in A-Z)
• Journal of Bioethical Inquiry (by title in A-Z)
• Journal of Vocational Behavior (by title in A-Z)
• Journal of the American Board of Family Medicine (OVID)
• Learning Disabilities: A Multidisciplinary Journal (Science Direct)

The library has a new guide called: Black History & Culture.

The guide is split into primary document and secondary source websites,  featuring historical 

and cultural content in the form of images, documents, artworks, music, historical analysis and cultural commentary.      

Celebrate Black culture every day of the year. 

 Photo by jodyhongfilms on Unsplash

Did you know that the Virtual Library maintains a full-text repository of submitted DNP Projects?

The repository houses over 200 unique full-text projects, written between 2012 and  2020.

There are a couple of ways to search for a project:

1. Click into the guide at the foot of any library page and browse the A-Z Listings by Author last-name
2. Use the Search this Site search box on the top right of the library pages and search on title topic or author. Click into the result that comes from DNP Project Digital Repository Guide

For assistance with these or any other research in the library, please reach out to the librarians at: 

asc-thevirtuallibrarian@post.edu

The librarians monitor this email 7 days a week, 365 days a year.